3 Children, Mother Declared Dead After 7-Vehicle Crash In Harris County
by J. Gonzalez Injury Attorneys | March 18th, 2021 | Auto Accident
On March 14th, a 28-year-old mother and 3 of her children died when an intoxicated driver caused a 7-vehicle accident near Houston.
Details About the Car Accident
According to the Harris County Sheriff’s Office, the accident occurred around 8:30 p.m. on FM 2920, near Gosling Road, in Harris County.
The 35-year-old intoxicated driver, who was pulled over by Harris County Deputies 20 minutes prior to the accident, was allegedly driving under the influence of alcohol with a blood alcohol content level of .15, which is nearly double the amount that the State of Texas recognizes as “drunk”.
The defendant struck the mother’s vehicle from behind on Gosling Road, which caused a chain-reaction crash that involved other vehicles. The victim’s vehicle was caught on fire as a result of the accident and killed her 7-month old child and herself on sight.
Two of her children–a 5-year old and a 2-year-old–were rushed to the hospital. They were eventually declared dead.
The 35-year-old male was arrested on 3 counts of intoxicated manslaughter and 1 count of intoxication assault.
No other injuries or fatalities were reported from other vehicles involved.
Harris County’s Staggering Intoxicated Driving Problem
Harris County has been considered to be the epicenter for drunk driving accidents and fatalities in the United States. In fact, this area has led the nation in DWI-related fatalities every single year for the past 18 years.
In 2019, Harris County experienced a total number of 3,603 DUI-related accidents across the entire county.
Out of these reported accidents, the following incidents were reported:
- 642 DUI-incidents in which 1,077 individuals suffered possible injuries.
- 424 DUI-incidents in which 616 individuals suffered non-incapacitating injuries.
- 184 DUI-incidents in which 235 individuals suffered serious injuries.
- 110 fatal DUI-incidents in which 120 individuals lost their lives because of a drunk driver.
If found guilty of a drunk-driving offense in Harris County–or anywhere in the State of Texas–jail time, hefty fines, and license suspension could be issued out as a consequence.
When convicted of a DUI, the following penalties can come into action:
- 180 days worth of jail time and/or $2,000 maximum fine. In addition, a 90-day license suspension on a FIRST offense may also be placed onto the offender.
- For the SECOND offense: up to 365 days of jail time and/or $4,000 maximum fine, with a possibility of at least a one-year license suspension and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for a three-year period to keep your license (if committed within 5 years from the first one).
- For the THIRD offense: 2-10 years in prison and/or $10,000 fine, with a one to two-year license suspension and an annual fee of up to $2,000 for a three-year period to keep your license (also within 5 years from the last offense).
Were You or Someone You Love Injured or Killed by a Drunk Driver? Do Not Hesitate to Seek Justice Today!
Drunk driving accidents are 100 percent preventable, yet they remain a big problem in the Lone Star State. To help victims of these accidents find the compensation they need to heal, however, the Rio Grande Valley’s Top Lawyer of J. Gonzalez Injury Attorneys is here to help.
Our McAllen car accident attorneys are determined to seek the appropriate financial recovery for victims and their surviving family for the loss of their loved one and the emotional pain and suffering they have had to endure as a result.
Get in touch with J. Gonzalez Injury Attorneys today for a FREE virtual consultation!